G is for Gibside

“You should write a blog titled ‘G is for Gibside’ it would be a really good read!”

What other parkrun geeks say πŸ€“

Before Christmas, inspired by folk on the UK parkrun tourist FB group, I decided to make a plan to tackle the alphabet. To become a parkrun alphabeteer you have to complete one parkrun starting with each letter of the alphabet. X is currently un achievable, and Z is only available in Poland (Zary). Some I had already covered, quite by accident (see earlier post). I was pleased when I realised this was a good way to give some purpose to my parkrun tourism – which had been random and sporadic up until this point. 



My first missing letter was G. A quick search in the parkrun tourist tool revealed there were 2 in the North East – just in case one was cancelled! I searched for Premier Inn and Travelodges and the best deal was a Β£29 Premier Inn just north of Durham. I’d only briefly visited Durham once, and intended to return. So everything fell into place, on Valentine’s weekend 2017 – my 2 year parkrun anniversary πŸ’•πŸƒπŸΌβ€β™€οΈ

A busy week led to me packing at 11pm on the Friday, with my alarm set for 5am. I left plenty of time for my journey leaving at 5:45am for a 2:30 hour journey. Or so I thought. In future I will…

  • Ensure I have enough fuel before I leave Blackburn 
  • Not miss the last service junction for miles on the M6 when fuel computer says zero miles left in the tank
  • Not panic and come off at the next junction even though there isn’t a fuel icon on the Sat Nav
  • And I certainly won’t be driving on random country roads for 20 minutes in blizzard like conditions, heart racing through fear of being stranded.

Aside from the drama (my own fault!) the drive was pleasurable and I was suitably impressed when I arrived at the National Trust property. Free parking and a nice little jog to the start. Good toilet facilities, but the finish is away from the start so I opted to leave my bag in the car. 

The course was easily described using the NT map and I prepared myself mentally for the hills! I definitely appreciated my trail shoes! After 1km on a path, there is a hilly loop through the woods. At about half way you run up another hill to an out and back section where you can judge your position (if you’re into that…) and then you know it’s all down hill from there – the words every runner loves to hear! 

The finish line was well received and I certainly felt those hills in my legs. Great little cafe too – with a real fire! This was well received after a chilly and damp run. 


I tied the trip in with a visit to Durham Heritage Coast. Well worth a return visit, hopefully on a summers day… 😎


Happy Valentine’s weekend to one of my true loves*, parkrun 

*other true loves include espresso and flumps 

One thought on “G is for Gibside

  1. This is excellent. I loved it. Good luck with the rest Francesca. I might even have a look at my own to see how many I have done. x

    Like

Leave a comment